Guto Bussab – co-producer of the film Gangster’s Paradise: Jerusalema (2008) and current photographic documenter for Cape Town’s World Design Capital 2014 bid – is a transplanted Brazilian who can’t imagine living elsewhere than Cape Town.

A graduate of São Paulo’s ESPM (Superior Education of Marketing & Communication Management,) where he studied social communication, this photographer, film producer, artist and gallery owner is also owner of MUTI, a company which produces commercial and feature films, offers photographic services and  all aspects of cultural production.

Here hoolie-hah catchers up with Guto.

CURRENTLY I’M INVOLVED IN … several projects at the same time, ranging from feature film production, to public art projects, to art photograhy and advertising.

I ENJOY … being a contributor to the cultural scene of wherever I am residing.

IT WAS PRETTY COOL … producing the film JERUSALEMA, directing Mandela for a TV commercial and then photographing him for the book “A Prisioner in the Garden” (Penguin). He sent me a signed thank you letter. That made me feel extremely thrilled about the work I was doing and of being accepted here as a foreigner.

I ALSO LOVE … having had an art gallery, Muti Gallery, for over five years where I could showcase a lot of good art.We are currently developing a project gallery called The Rec Room which will showcase one local artist per week and link up with a virtual blog space which will be a platform for both new and and established talent.

DESIGN IS … a physical thing that is (hopefully) embedded with some sort of meaning. I am a minimalist in every sense. I find beauty and emotion in simple, elegant and thought provoking design. So, to me, design to me is how to make life more enjoyable, functional and stimulating.


I LIVE   in Vredehoek in two-bedroomed art deco flat shared with my wife and son. We are quite high up the mountain so we have a view of the harbour and beyond. We can see Lions Head, the city skyline and even the Green Point Stadium and Robben Island. It’s awesome to wake up to that every day.

ON OUR WALLS … We have variety of art by Kim Lieberman, Barend De Wet, Paul Sheley, MJ Lourens, Francois van Reenen, and Inge Prins. We have some of my wife Leigh’s art and some of mine on the walls too. My favourite piece is a painting from our artist friend Alexandra Ross. It was a wedding present.

I WORK…   in Oranjezicht, bordering Verdehoek in a two storey building Art Deco building with a lot of character and filled with art.

It’s incredibly conveniently located,  close to the city, to the Gardens Centre and to where I live.  I think it’s very counterproductive to live far from where you work. I can take my clients to lunch with a choice of many restaurants and coffee shops within wallking distance .

I GET AROUND … on my Vespa mostly (although we do have a family car). I wouldn’t change it for anything. I never have problems parking, I am always on time and I feel incredibly mobile. Not to mention that I spend only about R50 per week on petrol and it’s a million times more fun moving around on a cool scooter than in a car, especially driving around scenic Cape Town.

I CHILL OUT … with an early walk in Camps Bay beach after I drop my son at school and at galleries for openings and on Saturdays, with a stop at Superette and the Neighbourgoods market, followed by the Book Lounge in Roeland Street.

I surf in Muizenberg and Llandudno and chill at the beach in Camps Bay.

We eat out quite a lot, and we’re always on the hunt for the next new restaurant or coffee bar. But my favourite spots are Carne, Eastern Food Bazaar and Tokara in Stellenbosch.

My usual hangouts in Vredehoek are The Portuguese Villa (for hearty ‘porra’ food and beer), Lazari (my second boardroom) and Carlyle’s for a pizza and after work drinks.

DESIGNS AND DESIGNERS I LOVE … Cape Town has an excepional amount of good design. I tend to look out for designs that are innovative and intelligent and with a social upliftment intent. I am very interested in public art, so I ike the works of Porky Hefer (Crate Fan) and Chris Swift who made a life-size replica of Mandela’s cell with disposed fence from Robben Island. Both of them deal with recycling which gives a whole new meaning and life to the materials used.

An upcoming designer I love is Lauren Fowler. She is very graceful and playful and I don’t think she is aware that she epitomises Cape Town in her work.

I find that sometimes Capetonian designers tend to look for inspiration elsewhere but their surroundings. I try my best to represent where I live and not obsess about competing with what’s being done overseas. It’s the same with filmmaking, you can only reach the international market once the film has already cultivated a local audience.

But I think there has been a significant shift in consumption, appreciation and validation of local desingn.

I have been supporting the Cape Town bid for World Design Capital 2014 and have been exposed to incredibly innovative design with a beautiful local flavour.

crate fan image, cherryflava

